Mrs. Archer's Book Notes

An elementary school librarian's blog about books and library happenings.

Review: The Worm Whisperer by Betty Hicks

March14

The Worm Whisperer

The Worm Whisperer by Betty Hicks

Goodreads SummaryYou’ve heard of Horse Whisperers and Dog Whisperers, but Ellis thinks he might be a Worm Whisperer!

Ellis Coffey loves animals. He spends so much time outdoors that sometimes he thinks he can talk with them. When he discovers a caterpillar that seems to follow his directions, he knows he has a chance to win the annual Woolly Worm race. The prize money is $1,000–exactly the amount of the deductible for his dad’s back surgery. If Ellis is right and he can train his woolly worm to be the fastest in the county, he’s sure can solve all his family’s problems. But when you’re trying to talk to insects, nothing is as simple as it seems.

Hicks’ The Worm Whisperer is a great elementary read aloud. It’s a heart warming story of young ellis Coffey who struggles to find his way at school and to help his family who has been struggling since his mom lost his job and his dad began having back troubles. Young readers will identify with the challenges Ellis faces at school – from becoming the class clown to dealing with a less than friendly classmate to wondering if a certain classmate likes wooly worms like he does. Adults will appreciate Ellis’ strong character and he desire to help his family.

The Worm Whisperer is a strong well developed story.  It is an easy read for students to read on their own or for a classroom read aloud. It would be a great companion book for a unit on animals (or worms) and would work well with character education units.

Fans of  Clementine and Judy Moody & Stink will enjoy this quick read.

I will be adding it to the school library collection and will be putting it on my suggested 3rd, 4th and 5th Grades Summer Reading List.

by posted under Uncategorized | 28 Comments »    

Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

I am returning this year as the librarian for Academy Endeavour Elementary. I am a complete and total bookworm. I love talking books with students and parents. If you ask me what my favorite book is I will tell you that it changes every day. I hope you will stop by this blog often and discuss books with me. Or drop into the library and see what our wonderful students are learning.

Mrs. Archer reading one of her favorite books.

Ramona, named after one of Mrs. Archer's all time favorite book characters.

Blog Archives